Knockout Fish Tacos: Cabo Fish Taco, Charlotte

28 Dec

In Charlotte, North Carolina, far from America’s southern border and any large body of water, I did not expect to find amazing tacos and especially not fish tacos. But then my husband and I came across Cabo Fish Taco Baja Seagrill in Charlotte’s NoDa neighborhood, and I was pleasantly surprised. The restaurant is cozy, divided into two rooms. We arrived for an early dinner so we were seated immediately. Complimentary chips and corn salsa arrived soon after.Cabo Fish Taco

Service is ridiculously fast. We had barely ordered when our two plates of tacos appeared!

DSC01352

Taco shells are poofy and airy, but crispy on the outside. I’ve never had such interesting tortillas. I love that you can mix and match Cabo’s signature tacos. I ordered one beer-battered whitefish taco and one blackened mahi-mahi taco, with a side of avocado pasta salad. Portions of fish are generous – be careful or chunks of fish will tumble out of your taco!

My husband ordered a pair of tavarua tuna tacos from the specialty taco menu. These seared tuna tacos rubbed in a yummy kiwi-pineapple sauce are to die for! I could eat these all day long. The side of jalapeno mashed potatoes were a creative twist on a potato classic.  DSC01353

If you haven’t yet tried Cabo Fish Taco, you’re missing out! Be sure to order the tavarua tuna tacos!

Food: 5/5 | Atmosphere: 4/5 | Value: 5/5

Info: Cabo Fish Taco, 3201 North Davidson Street, Charlotte, NC 28205 USA

Cabo Fish Taco Baja Seagrill on Urbanspoon

Leave a comment