Dining with a View: Twin Falls, Idaho

14 Jun

After a long workday in Twin Falls, Idaho, I decided to take myself on a scenic date. Elevation 486 was full of couples on dates, women dressed up for girls’ night out,  friends celebrating special occasions…. I breathed a sigh of relief when I noticed a man sitting alone, eyes glued to his mobile phone, like me. Phew, I was not the only one on a solo business date. Elevation 486 is in a fairly new building which seems like it could be some sort of visitor’s center…I’m not sure.  On one side of a bright lobby is the entrance to the restaurant, which opens up to a bar on the right, and multiple dining areas on the left.  Every table has a view through the big windows opening up to a big patio outside and the canyon below. This is why you come to Elevation 486. IMG_20150602_205549403 The food is pretty good too. My meal kicked off with complimentary warm rolls with huckleberry butter – I kept eating bread just so that I could have more of that delicious butter! My entree came with a choice of soup or salad for an appetizer, and I chose the tomato bisque. It was flavourful and incredibly creamy, punctuated with diced tomatoes. Elevation 486 - Tomato bisque On the menu you’re sure to find something to please everyone – from chicken to steak or meatloaf to BC salmon and Idaho trout. For my main event I chose the fire-grilled Oregon Quail, a pretty popular choice at Elevation. The two quail were both sweet and spicy, from the honey, bourbon, and jalapeno glaze. I was warned about the effort it could take to get all the meat off the little bones, but it was well worth it. IMG_20150602_201749322_HDR Maybe because I was a loner diner who did not order any alcohol, service was rather inattentive and slow. It took over 10 minutes for a glass of water to arrive at my table after I was first seated. The view however, can’t be beat, and if I ever find myself in Twin Falls again, I’ll be sure to come back, hopefully with a dining companion!IMG_20150602_205612018 Info: Elevation 486, 195 River Vista Pl, Twin Falls, ID 83301 USA Click to add a blog post for Elevation 486 on Zomato

Leave a Reply

