What’s in a Chicken McNugget?

13 Sep

In high school, I loved McDonald’s Chicken McNuggets. Crispy, meaty (maybe?), and so dunkable in barbecue or honey mustard sauce. Of course, I’ve discovered much better food over the years (not being completely broke helps), and now I avoid fast food chains as much as possible. Recently however, after a long and tiring business trip, my husband stopped by McDonald’s during a brief lapse in judgement. He brought me back a box of Chicken McNuggets…

DSC00869

What are in McNuggets, anyway? Turns out, there really is white meat chicken in these things, not pink goop! This is how Chicken McNuggets are made. Nevertheless, nowadays I don’t find McNuggets tasty enough to eat an entire box all at once. I ate a couple pieces and stuck the rest in the fridge. Here they are after 5 days, looking a bit sad and dry:

DSC00870

Were they still edible? I broke one open…the batter layer cracked open to reveal a hollow pocket, with what appears to be a bit of shriveled chicken. All I know is that when I cook chicken breast pieces and leave them in the fridge for 5 days, they don’t shrink to nothingness… I guess it’s no surprise that second on the list of ingredients for McNuggets is water (see page 10).

DSC00871Yup, definitely a food picture that doesn’t make you salivate!

Leave a Reply

