Pesto Chicken and Ravioli

28 Jul

I bought freshly made porcini mushroom and cheese ravioli, and sweet pea ravioli packed with whole peas from Russo’s Market in Watertown, MA. The sweet pea ravioli is not always available, but when it is, it sells fast. One lady told me she will plan her dinner around the availability of the sweet pea pasta!

I am also excited about my basil plant – it’s now two feet tall! I used fresh basil to make a pesto sauce. A light sauce lets the richness of the mushrooms and the crispness of the peas shine. Shown below with grilled chicken breast.

ravioli with chicken

Spinach and basil pesto

In a food processor, pulse to blend:

  • 2 cups packed basil and spinach
  • 1/3 cup pine nuts
  • 2-3 garlic cloves, minced

Add and continue to blend:

  • 1/2 cup (or a little less) olive oil
  • 1/2 cup pecorino-romano cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste

Sometimes I use leftover pesto to stir-fry with zucchini and summer squash. You can also freeze pesto in ice cube trays to store for longer (don’t add cheese to the pesto if you plan on freezing it).

Basil-spinach pesto

2 Responses to “Pesto Chicken and Ravioli”

  1. gerrygryle August 2, 2013 at 1:47 am #

    Wow what mouth-watering ideas you have on here. I’m particularly fond of spinach myself and am always looking for delicious yet healthful ideas. Check out this blog for a spectacular breakfast idea… http://68anda6pack.com/2013/06/25/the-turbocharged-popeye-breakfast/ … Tasty stuff that I now regularly use for my pre-workout meals. Just thought I’d share. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pesto Turkey and Sweet Potato Mash | The Busy Foodie - October 19, 2013

    […] with basil-spinach pesto (as much as you […]

Leave a Reply

