Gen Sushi, Belmont

12 Jan

After a couple of friends raved about Gen Sushi, my guy and I decided we had to give it a try. The place is tiny, with 4 seats at the sushi bar, and four two-seater tables.  We entered through velvety curtains, and claimed our seats at the sushi bar.

There is no doubt that all the staff are pleasant and friendly, and I felt at home in the little restaurant. I’ve also heard that Gen Sushi is very accommodating of special diets, though my boyfriend and I will eat everything.

Gen Sushi

The fish is fresh, and portions of raw fish are very good – see the tuna sushi above. However, I found the maki rolls to be a bit sloppy. Maki pieces were unevenly shaped, and not cut to the same height.

IMAG1703

IMAG1704Very thin slices of fish were unevenly layered on the rainbow roll (above, middle). The avocado slices were haphazardly arranged on the caterpillar roll (above, bottom). At Gen Sushi’s price point, I would have expected cucumber antennae and eyes made from pieces of octopus on a caterpillar roll.

IMAG1705

We finished our dinner with a complimentary palate cleanser – sweet and juicy pineapple and orange slices served cutely on their rinds.

IMAG1706

The Final Word: Overall, we had a very enjoyable dinner with terrific service. The sushi was yummy, but the presentation was lacking.

Info: Gen Sushi, 61 Concord Ave, Belmont, MA 02478, USA

Gen Sushi on Urbanspoon

2 Responses to “Gen Sushi, Belmont”

  1. hungrytommy January 12, 2014 at 10:25 am #

    Before you even said it I noticed the tuna and thought, that cut isn’t right. Sushi, even more than other cooking, is an art. Even if everything is fresh and the rice is good, ugly sushi doesn’t work and from your pictures and your words that’s some ugly sushi. Have you tried Ginger in Bedford? Not as god as it used to be before they remodeled/expanded but still very good.

    • BusyFoodie January 12, 2014 at 1:03 pm #

      I totally agree with you. This sushi dinner was a splurge, and I expected much prettier sushi! I haven’t been to Ginger, but I’ll put it on my list of restaurants to try. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 434 other followers

